Watson Elected NRWA President; Directors Voted to Executive Board

Watson Elected NRWA President; Directors Voted to Executive Board

Ft. Worth, Texas – Kent Watson of Texas was elected President of the National Rural Water Association (NRWA) at the 2018 WaterPro Conference in Fort Worth, Texas.

Watson will lead the Executive Board that includes Senior Vice President David Baird of Delaware, Vice President John O’Connell, III of New York, Secretary Glen Womack of Louisiana, Treasurer Phillip Combs of Tennessee, Immediate Past President Steve Fletcher of Illinois, and Board Members Chris Kenyon of Michigan, David J. Peterson of Kentucky and Pat Williams of California.

“This is the pinnacle of a career that started about 40 years ago in the water and wastewater industry,” said Watson as he was surrounded by his closest friends and family during his inaugural luncheon.

Watson has worked for the Wickson Creek Special Utility District in Bryan, Texas for 31 years and serves as the General Manager. The District supplies water to more than 7,000 customers in an area of approximately 750 square miles in portions of Brazos, Grimes and Robertson Counties. He was elected to the NRWA Board of Directors in 2008.

In addition to his work in rural water, he serves as the Brazos Valley Groundwater District Director and Deacon at Bethan Baptist Church.

Kent Watson will serve as president of NRWA for the next two years, the nation’s largest water utility association with over 31,000 members. He will be one of the voices representing Rural Water at industry events, with government agencies and in the halls of Congress.

“I pledge to represent this great organization with the integrity and professionalism you’ve come to expect,” he addressed conference attendees. “I will need your help and I will help you. This will be a common goal to better the water and wastewater industry across these great United States.”