Anderton named NRWA Man of the Year


SEATTLE, Wash. – Outgoing National Rural Water Association President Doug Anderton was named NRWA Man of the Year during the annual Tribute to Excellence awards ceremony on Monday, October 6th in Seattle, Wash.

“It’s not every year that we present the Man/Woman of the Year award,” said Awards Committee Chairman Kent Watson, an NRWA board member from Texas. “It is a prestigious award given to individuals who have dedicated their lives and their work to making Rural Water the best it can be.”

The Man of the Year award is presented to an individual or an organization that have gone “above and beyond” the normal scope of activities and support for Rural Water across America based on their loyalty, dedication and outstanding contributions to the Rural Water cause.

Anderton has worked in Rural Water since 1971 and during his career has served as a board member for his state association since 1990, serving on countless committees and as president.  He was elected to the NRWA board in 1999 and was elected president in 2012.

“He is active in his community, his church and his town, serving on local committees, several local boards and authorities,” Watson said. “He is married, has one daughter, a son-in-law and three grandchildren.”

Anderton served as an organizing director for the Citizens Bank & Trust, where he continues to serve on the board and as chair of the Loan and IT committees. He has served as chairman of the Dale County Industrial Development Authority and currently serves as vice-chair. Anderton has served as chairman of the Northwest Georgia Joint Development Authority and as a member of the Optimist Club. He is a member of the Chamber of Commerce, and was named their Man of the Year in 1995.

“I feel blessed to be able to represent Georgia on the NRWA Board of Directors, and I am truely blessed to be voted Man of the Year by me peers,” Anderton said.

Anderton will continue to serve as Georgia’s representative on the NRWA Board of Directors and will serve on the Executive Board as immediate Past President.