NRWA hosts 2013 awards; Minnesota Association of the Year


2013 Assn of the YearLOUISVILLE, Ky. – Staff from the Minnesota Rural Water Association jumped up and exchanged high-fives as their association was named “Association of the Year” during the 2013 Tribute to Excellence awards ceremony held October 1st as part of the H2O-XPO in Louisville, Ky.

MRWA was honored for years of consistent service, including retaining 17 staff members with a combined 225 years of service. Minnesota also won the award for Outstanding Achievement in Communications, Publications and Public Relations, recognized for its monthly newsletter and quarterly magazine. The association also recently started a notification system that can contact thousands through phone lines, e-mails and text messages.

The Florida Rural Water Association won two awards. FRWA was honored with the Outstanding Achievement in Legislative Initiatives for its effort in the campaign to have Consumer Confidence Reports delivered electronically, and actions that led to more affordable state nutrient reduction plans. Florida was also awarded the Outstanding Achievement in Technical Assistance award.

The Kentucky Rural Water Association was awarded the Outstanding Achievement in Member Services Award in honor of the range of benefits they offer to their member systems. KRWA offers a range of services, including a Finance Corporation, Recordkeeping, CCR Hosting, and Insurance programs.

The Wisconsin Rural Water Association was awarded the Outstanding Achievement in Training Award. Wisconsin Rural Water has conducted over 250 classes at 100 different locations to over 5,000 system operations specialists.

These winners were selected from 49 state associations across the nation. The National Rural Water Association Awards Committee reviews each submission with the names redacted, then scores each item to select a winner. Kent Watson of Texas chairs the committee of Phillip Combs of Tennessee, Steve Fletcher of Illinois, Paul Fulgham of Utah and Henry Meyer of Atlantic States.